Diving into Bonsai

TacomaBonsai95

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Hello everyone!
I am very new to bonsai and I just wanted to share some of my material. Also, the reason I got in to bonsai was when my friend and I were clearing trails on his property and I kept having to transplant young pines out of the way. I kept a few of the pines I didn't think would survive due to being mamed. Picture 1 and 2 are a Western White Pine. Picture 3 and 4 are of a Shore Pine. I'm really unsure if that shore pine will be worth it, I'll have to see how it does this spring.20230102_155238.jpg20230102_155536.jpg20230104_125751.jpg20230104_135349.jpg

Deep Sea Diver

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Welcome Aboard Bonsai Nut!

First off, great job taking that first step making your initial posts in our forum. It’s pretty tough to pull that trigger for most folks.

Second, just a matter of protocol, please enter your approximate location and USDA zone by double clicking your icon on the top of the page, then click Account details and scroll down and enter this data. It helps us help give you good advice tailored to your area. These data will appear on your icon henceforth and can be altered if you move,

( Now I know you put Tacoma in your handle, which would put you down the road from us, yet most folks 😆may not understand this.)

Third, your trees. Imho the shore pine and lodgepole would be the ones with most long term promise. Western Whites are harder to handle, especially when it comes to needle length…. but it all depends on your goals.

My initial advice, grow these out the first year. Study these trees in the forum threads using the search engine and on other online sites. Once they root well and make it to the fall, then you might decide to take a next step. Be patient and get some junipers which are great trees to learn on in the meantime.

imho the shore pine has some really low growth one could use to create a decent bonsai.