Multiple issues with this JBP including long second flush. Is it the heat?

dacoontz

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Posted this in another thread but felt like I was hijacking the thread and wasn’t getting any advice, so started my own.

Keep in mind I’m still new at this and this tree didn’t seem to have a lot of active work being done to it when I acquired it last Fall.

I decandled in late May, obviously too early. Not sure the excessive heat here in southern Oregon has helped either. Had to water daily which also may be part of the problem. I did repot this tree also this spring but didn’t do much root pruning. Anyhow, I’ve done everything wrong it would seem. Now here’s what I’ve got.

Should I reduce these taller second flush candles? What do I do with the long leggy internodes in those lower branches? And you can see I’ve removed some older needles on some branches and not in others to see what happens, maybe not a good idea? This tree will also need some hard pruning I’d imagine at certain areas as it gets a bit busy towards the top of the tree, but this needs to wait until fall, correct?

54B2F0EF-6879-4C75-A6ED-21DB4590E328.jpeg

D51B7F53-2E16-4C21-9744-75BAF7362EA4.jpeg

23AEB888-3263-4618-B115-35326F7ABCFF.jpeg

image.jpg

I decandled in late May, obviously too early

By about 2 years IMO!
It looks like it has been mistreated for a few years before you got it. Probably clinging to life.

The branches are far enough away from each other to allow years of unrestrained growth and not really lose anything. The health will allow you
some hard pruning

To start building branches and find what you'll keep out of the top.

Sorce

That tree doesn’t look to beginner friendly. Unless you have a mentor or something. I’m not able to give advice because I don’t have experience with this. But loooks like some cool material! I wish you luck with it! Maybe try to get a design going. It’s really leggy.