Good Indoor Tree for Beginner

AmateurBonsai

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
I am relatively new to Bonsai (have been learning about the art for a few months now) and looking to get a second tree to take care of

The first "bonsai" that I bought was from HD and was the dreaded ginseng ficus. Not much of a bonsai as according to here and other resources, but an interesting house plant to take care of none the less. As I thought I had wised up to the typical newbie mistakes, I pursued another bonsai, this time purchasing one from a local home and garden store. Here I bought what I thought was to be another ficus, instead turning out to be a Carmona (Fukien Tea) tree. While I enjoy my Carmona, this one tree is not enough to keep me intrigued in the art at the current moment, plus I am scared that I will kill it off and have nothing left come winter time

Thus here I am reaching out to the community in regards to opinions on which tree would be a good fit for me to grow indoors. I would love to grow outdoor trees, however with my current living situation I don't think winterizing the trees can be done safely without spending a lot of money as I live on the second floor of an apartment. Based on my research it looks like a Hawaiian Umbrella, Chinese Elm, or a Dwarf Jade would be good beginner indoor options, what do y'all think? Hoping to get a tree that can teach me the basics and that I can propagate in the future.

Welcome! Most all ficus can adjust to being inside if you at least have a sunny window and can easily be propagated. Chinese elm are not really indoor trees and will not do well inside ultimately. Your other choices would work as well. I would suggest checking Wigert's Bonsai for some tropical pre-bonsai. They are reasonably priced and very healthy trees. They are also great at responding if you are looking for something in particular, not shown on their website. You will get much better value than the pseudo bonsai you'll find at the big box stores.