Although they're under shade cloth, my Japanese maple seedlings are still getting scorched.

Toshi

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
They get morning sun from about 830 - 1 and then shade the rest of the day on my south facing balcony. I thought the cloth would help but they're still getting roasted like a washed up celebrity on comedy central.

This is the screen that i bought - https://a.co/d/016ALaw

I guess it's not suitable for this purpose? I'm not really sure what to do, the foliage is constantly scorched both at the apex as well as the base.

20220723_133327.jpg

20220723_133339.jpg

ShadyStump

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I'm no expert on maples by a long shot, so grain of salt.

What's the weather been like? Any way of raising the humidity?
When I look at the soil I see little green bits. Is that fertilizer? If so, tell us about it, because it's possible they're getting too much and that's what's burning the foliage.

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a
My best guess is that the roots are staying too wet +/- fungal issues with the foliage... and overwatering and underwatering issues often look surprisingly simple. Fwiw, I'm pretty sure lack of humidity isn't the problem... I've been to NYC in July!

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Looks to me like too hot and dry. The leaves are crisping. In the heat of the summer, I would recommend keeping green Japanese maples away from ANY direct sun. Additionally, I would protect from the wind and consider misters if it is going to be really hot.