Hobbit Jade - Would I need to transplant this to call it a "Bonsai"?

GuyDudeman

Seedling
Reaction score
Here is a Hobbit Jade plant I've been growing for about 10 years or so... Am I entitled to call this a Bonsai? It's rather large, and would take a LOT of work to transplant into something else.

IMG_6247.JPEGIMG_6248.JPEGIMG_6249.JPEG

I also have a couple others I've been working on, from the same original clipping, but I haven't provided these with as much growing space or water (or love) as the big one...

IMG_7320.JPEG
IMG_7322.JPEG

Last edited:

pandacular

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Welcome to the site!

Incredible jade tree. I think some folks on here get a bit weird about deciding what is and is not a bonsai. I prefer to keep it simple and say that a cool tree in a pot is a bonsai (I forget who's signature that is...).

I wouldn't transfer it just to feel more like you could call it a bonsai, especially because you could already call it a niwaki, which is really cool too!

GuyDudeman

Seedling
Reaction score
Welcome to the site!

Incredible jade tree. I think some folks on here get a bit weird about deciding what is and is not a bonsai. I prefer to keep it simple and say that a cool tree in a pot is a bonsai (I forget who's signature that is...).

I wouldn't transfer it just to feel more like you could call it a bonsai, especially because you could already call it a niwaki, which is really cool too!
Awesome! Thanks so much! I'm going to just keep it where it is. if it ever fills up that planter or starts to look like it's suffering in any way, I'll transplant it into something else. But for now, it's staying right where it is!

pandacular

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
If you want to make bonsai, I'd focus on the cuttings, and take a bunch more of them! I don't know anything about this species, but I really do love the big one. The way the three trunks fan out has some really great 3D depth.

GuyDudeman

Seedling
Reaction score