Help please. New Chinese Elm. Poor health

bennybonsai

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6-9
Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone could help? Im new to Bonsai. I purchased this Chinese Elm 1 week ago for half price as the leafs feel slightly dry almost crisp and yellowing a little and it had been in the garden centre 1 year 6 months. It hasnt been repotted in the time its been there and i couldnt find when it was last repotted before it got there. The moss smells a little off to me almost a mouldy smell, is that how its supposed to smell? There is also a root popping out of the side of the pot. Is the pooor health due to the moss being so old? Also does anyone have any idea how old it looks? Is it okay to repot this early in the year? Does the tree look over or underwatered? Many thanks and sorry for the million questions.20240127_230437.jpg

Attachments

• 20240127_230503.jpg
    20240127_230503.jpg
    132.9 KB · Views: 27
  • 20240127_230454.jpg
    20240127_230454.jpg
    148.9 KB · Views: 38
Someone with more insight/experience can add to this but I think a couple things are at play here.

That soil looks very organic and the tree is probably pot bound. Lack of oxygenation to the roots might be causing the die back.

The tree might also be dropping leaves due to the stress of changing environments. I’ve heard of elms dropping all the leaves and then rebounding after becoming acclimated to their new environment.

If it’s kept strictly indoors I think now is a good time to repot (others should comment on this). The reason we don’t repot in winter is due to not being able to properly care for freezing temps. We don’t want those new roots to freeze. A repot into a more inorganic substrate is warranted.

Welcome to Bonsai Nut!

This is a great place to come to get help or help ours less knowledgeable in bonsai! That is a bit of a husky trunk?

Just a glance and the tree looks over pruned and in need of a repot…. and TLC for at least a year.