Wiring Question - Did I doom these branches?

Apex37

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I’m still fairly new to wiring, even more so with using copper wire. I just did my first major wiring job on a shimpaku juniper I’ve had for a bit.

Are these branches doomed? What can I do in the future to avoid this happening?
9174FAC6-65EF-4DAA-99EA-90B715260BE1.jpeg540D041A-5236-4069-8749-BE070BBA657F.jpeg1F881D9E-F56A-4F7B-81FD-DF34C075AF51.jpeg

Deep Sea Diver

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Good you are practicing hanging wire. Practice and study is the only way to get better.

Not to feel too bad, this is a fairly common mistake, esp when laying heavier wire on junipers and bending right at tree junctions, radically forcing larger sub branches out and away from each other. I’ve made this mistake myself, particularly when working in tight spots and bending aggressively without carefully studying the layout. 😉

The easy answer is likely not if the branches are bent back together right off. Even have slipped zip ties over the junction similar to #3 after rejoining split to ensure junction is closed. Works. Needs about a year to seal… or more depending on tree growth.

Junipers are tough and the sub branches may survive if not bent back together , but likely structurally integrity will be compromised for one or both branches. If not dead, when removing the wire the most affected sub branch, even if not dead, may break the .

Good Luck!

Cheers
DSD sends

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a
If the tear isn’t greater than 50% of the diameter of the branch, it’ll probably be fine. Moving it back to close the year will help, as will applying some cut paste. As DSD said above, it’s a common mistake to make. The trick moving forward is to envision where you’re moving/bending the branch before applying the wire, then applying the wire to facilitate the bending safely… easier said then done!

czaczaja

Shohin