Starting from nursery stock Bald Cypress

Native Tree12

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Hi All
I'm new in Florida in reading a bit on Bald Cypress .. watched some of the videos on you tube All excellent . ..My question is 2 fold I bought a 15 gallon Bad cypress that was root bound with a big circle pot root about 5 months ago ..I transplanted it to a 25..Should I root trim it a bit/ this winter put it back in the 25..or go back to a 15 gallon then either way let it grow again next summer reducing the height trying to get more lower branching ..Or do i dare take a bigger step this winter on the root pruning ..

Thanks
Native tree

IMG_3619.jpg

JoeH

Omono
Reaction score
The Florida Citrus Arboretum, Winter Haven,Florida
USDA Zone
9B
do it in the spring right when new buds start to swell. BC can take a lot of root reduction. I keep mine in standing water till they go dormant, then they are still in non draining pots that I keep from drying out. Where in FLA?

choppychoppy

Chumono
Reaction score
If it were mine end of Feb I would chop the tree down to about 2/3 of what the final size will be. Then cut the rootball back hard to fit in a container close to what the ultimate size will be. Develop from there.

WNC Bonsai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I bought three at Lowes this past summer and chopped them down to about 3’ tall, they were originally about 8’ tall. They grew well and developed some nice branching over the summer and next spring I plan to whack back the roots severely and put all three into a single large training pot that I got from Dallas Bonsai. Then develop them as a clump planting. Rom what I have seen on John Geanangel’s Youtube channel they can take it.

Reactions: JPM

Native Tree12

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b