Rosemary or bougainvillea purple bonsai which is easier to care for

Cadillactaste

Neagari Gal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I seen a cascading rosemary...that caught my eye. Yet the bougainvillea purple bonsai is the tree that caught my son's and my eye while in Honduras. So sentimentally...I am considering waiting to locate one of those that speak to me.

Then am curious...which of the two are the easiest to care for? Since I'm new to Bonsai. It maybe best to choose easiest to care for.

jk_lewis

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8
While I've seen a few very nice rosemary bonsai, every one I have tried has died, and they have a reputation of not being an easy-to-care-for species.

Bougainvillea on the other hand are easy, but they do not take to very cold weather.

Cadillactaste

Neagari Gal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Appreciate your knowledge first hand. Seen a pretty cascading one...but was not sure about it. The Bougainvillea was a tree that my son even did a homework project about that was given last school year...due at the beginning of this school year. He thought it unusual that the bloom looked like the leaf changed colors. We sat under a very old one on the patio...and had a nice meal.

Would the Bougainvillea fair okay in say...a sunroom setting? The room is actually built over top of a ravine. So we ca walk under it. It has windows on three sides and two large sky lights. In the winter though...it can take a chill. Not freezing. But cool...even with the floors and walls all insulated. The sides and skylights get sun...the wall facing the ravine...not so much.

jk_lewis

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8
He thought it unusual that the bloom looked like the leaf changed colors.

You can tell him the the pink/purple Bougainvillea flowers are really leaves, called bracts. The flower itself is inside those bracts and is tiny and yellow.