New white pine

CamdenJim

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7B
This morning I made my first visit to Brussel's Bonsai and bought, among a few other things, my first white pine -- a small one, 10" soil to tip. Although I have pretty good credentials as a tree-killer, I'm trying to reform, so perhaps this wasn't my best choice. But I'm bold enough to ask for advice here in hopes of keeping this one not only alive but thriving a year from now.

Am I correct in thinking too many buds were left on last fall? Should I start removing some now, or wait? I know other things I have to do soon, but handling buds/candles/shoots on a pine is something I've never done before.

Attachments

• WhitePine-02B.jpg
    WhitePine-02B.jpg
    64.3 KB · Views: 98

october

Masterpiece
Reaction score
Congratulations on the pine. Although it is tough to tell because the tree is so dense. This pine will need to mature a little before it is styled. This is probably the reason so many buds were left on the tree. This season, you can reduce the buds in each section to 2. If there are more than 2, remove the strongest one/ones and leave the weaker ones. You can remove them with your fingers or if they have matured already, you can cut with scissors. I would leave the remaining buds alone and just let them grow. Also, normally needle plucking and bud selection is done in Fall. However, opening up the tree a bit now, might be a good idea. Remove needles growing in crevices/crotches and ones that are growing downwards underneath branches. However, don't remove too much overall. Also, with white pine, you should cut the needles with scissors and not pluck. Cut the needle at the base, you can leave a tiny stub. Eventually it will fall off.