Need some guidance on where to take this young JBP

Lawlcat

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9B
I'm new to pines in general and picked up this tree a month ago in a nursery visit because I wanted to dabble into pines. I liked the trunk but I couldn't really come up with any styling ideas on where to take it or how to handle it in the future. I was hoping I could get someone who could give some guidance on possibilities with it. The top Y trunks were pretty obviously grown as sacrificial from what the nursery owner said to me, and I was originally planning on just leaving them to grow for a few years to thicken the trunk a lot. I could end up then using one as jin and pulling the whole tree back down to have a nice long tall jin and the fat trunk tree under it. I thought that would look nice but...

I don't know what to do about it not having any lower branches. If I let the two current heads grow fully to thicken up the trunk, what is a plan in order to get back buds down further for branch selection? Would I be able to trim the candles throughout next year's growing season (or now, since it's in one) to try to promote backbudding? I could then try to build a lower set of branches and then continue growing the top out again over the next few years after that.

There's an album available here of all four sides, but here's a direct image of what I consider to be the "front":

With no lower branches I'm just at a loss here.

The only thing I could come up with is to use a side as the front and use one of these 2 Y leaders as a "left branch", then use the other leader to grow straight up and try to thicken the entire thing to bring the new left branch back into scale.

Really super awful photoshop job here:

I'm open to other suggestions though. Any other suggestion, really. Help!

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!

I doubt you'll get any buds lower on the trunk.