Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
The leaves just won’t green up.
IMG_1801.jpeg

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I have no experience with these trees, but every post I see shoes them growing in marshy areas, oftentimes trunks below water. I imagine e that nutrient profile is quite specific and should be matched as closely as possible.

I found this little snippet from a horticulture site. Best of luck!

"Bald-cypress likes an acidic soil and will develop yellowing of the leaves if grown in neutral or calcareous soils."

Cajunrider

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
I have no experience with these trees, but every post I see shoes them growing in marshy areas, oftentimes trunks below water. I imagine e that nutrient profile is quite specific and should be matched as closely as possible.

I found this little snippet from a horticulture site. Best of luck!

"Bald-cypress likes an acidic soil and will develop yellowing of the leaves if grown in neutral or calcareous soils."
I have mixed sphagnum peat moss into the soil as recommended by Randy Bennett, also got a bit of iron sulfate and ironite in to lower the soil pH. A little patience is needed for the treatment to show results but I just want to make sure I got all bases covered. In some way I feel like I need to change the soil entirely but I hate to repot any tree when they are weak like this.

Last edited:

johng

Omono
Reaction score
I am not sure...is this the same soil mix you use with your other trees?

Cajunrider

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
I am not sure...is this the same soil mix you use with your other trees?
It is and all the other ones are doing just fine. I have several dozens of BCs in different growth status and they all are doing well save this forest.

johng

Omono
Reaction score
I've read that they prefer more acidic conditions often, but I also know that they grow freely in the rivers in central Texas that are full of limestone????

Cajunrider

Imperial Masterpiece