Need help wiring Thuja foliage

Mafu88

Seedling
Reaction score
This is my first post here on BN so...fingers crossed.

I am very new to bonsai and am looking for help wiring the foliage “fans” of a thuja occidentalis I purchased today. I worked on a juniper ‘nana’ and a baby blue spruce in the past few weeks and the foliage on those were fairly simple to wire. My results are not anything to be proud of yet, but in terms of applying some fundamentals I’ve learned from YouTube and a bonsai book, the spruce and especially the nana were simple to deal with. Thuja foliage is just so droopy and elongated. Any help on how to acquire a layered look with wiring the foliage, or at least directing me to a thread here on Bonsai Nut that will give me some tips. Thanks!

jerzyjerzy

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
There are excellent lessons on Thuja on Bonsai Mirai Live, including detailed wiring - https://live.bonsaimirai.com/
You can sign for a free 7-day preview and watch all Thuja lessons in a week.

hinmo24t

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
people hate on those trees but if you get an old cathedral looking thuja or just old thuja going theyre awesome i think.
simiilar to the vibe pines give me, thuja remind me of prehistoric landscapes. pines redwoods thuja etc

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
I love Thujas!

I could walk for a mile and see ONLY thuja in certain places around here.
They are both challenging and entertaining to wire...

“Rocket Foliage” damages easy...

If you flip it’s photo-sensitive planes’ polarity, the foliage (and eventually branch) will die. (Don’t flip the foliage upside-down)

Developing ramification and “pads” will be MUCH like junis..

Those recommended Mirai videos are great, too. I caught one for free.
if you get an old cathedral looking thuja or just old thuja going theyre awesome i think.