My first trees

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to bonsai. I recieved two trees (Ficus microcarpa and Chinese elm) back in September but I've mostly only been watering and keeping them alive through the winter. (The Ficus is indoors and the elm is outside.) Now that it is spring I have been thinking about styling and pruning back the elm, and possibly repotting them. They don't yet look the greatest - what would be your advice?

Attachments

• 20240411_072503.jpg
    20240411_072503.jpg
    199.1 KB · Views: 37
  • 20240411_072611.jpg
    20240411_072611.jpg
    327.7 KB · Views: 37

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Advice is that Chinese elm is very resilient. Can be cut back as hard as you like and should still shoot again. Even chopping at ground level it will still sprout new shoots from the stump and from the roots. You can probably see the response where there's a cluster of new branches growing where an older thick branch was chopped off.
No need to go that hard usually. Just an illustration not to worry about cutting branches that require shortening.

Most commercial Chinese elm bonsai tend to have way too many branches for long term good but it makes them saleable.
Try to thin out existing branches. Remove excess where more than 1 branch is growing from the trunk close together or on opposite sides. Leaving too many close together tends to form lumps on the trunk which doesn't look good.
Removing close branches allows the remaining branches space to develop into better branches with more secondary side branches and tertiary twigs.
Shoots tend to grow long and unbranched. Pruning helps form more side shoots and therefore density on the branches. Generally let new shoots grow to 4-6 leaves then chop back to 2-3 leaves to maintain a compact tree and promote density.

The final choice of shape is yours as the owner. You know what you want to look at so aim to grow that.