Kiwi’s Jap Black Pine

KiwiPlantGuy

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Hi all,
I thought I would start this thread as an educational journey of how to grow, style, pluck, chop these black pines.
I have gone through many threads to gain info on how to grow these, but as a beginner I am a bit lost as to what to do.
I have added a couple of sample photos to start us off, and obviously plan on posting more photos as various stages in their progression.
These babies are 1.5 years old, potted into my own nursery blend of 80% pine bark,10% perlite, 10% Pumice. Also these were potted into 3 litre nursery pots as a start.
My thinking is I do a half in half trial. 1st half I pinch/take out central leader and keep whorl to 2 branches for new leader and first branch. And 2nd half of trial I leave alone for 3-5 years then chop down etc.
I have a few starting questions to ask.
1. Is my trial necessary?
2. Or should I chop all seedlings to force lower branching?
3. Or just take cuttings of these ( I have 10 trees) to get lower branching?

Now, many are reported to be using a colander of sorts. @sorce, could you please describe your use of mesh as a cheap method of colander.
@Anthony, I have made a comment on your thread regarding colanders and ground growing. Could you give me a few pointers as to pinching these seedlings for lower branches versus letting them go wild and then chopping.
@Adair M, I haven’t had the pleasure in reading your contributions to any of my threads, and was hoping you could point me in a few beginner directions for growing these baby pines.

Many thanks to all who contribute and read this thread, and I look forward to learning lots.
Charles
P.S. top right pine cutting was only 1 of black pines to root, but only had 5 cuttings to start with.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
https://bonsainut.com/threads/those-pot-materials.18202/

All the info is there....