Juniper talked and I listened

october

Masterpiece
Reaction score
Hi All,
Some of you are familiar with the Shohin Juniper I have posted over the last few years. It has been a constant problem for the last 2 1/2 years. The tree refuses to keep the bottom right half of the tree healthy. Last year, I did a repot and rewiring to maintain the design. It really didn't help. Now, with shedding season here, which part does the tree decide to shed, yup, the weaker part. Anyway, I studied the tree to assess for a restyle. It seemed that rotating the tree counter clockwise and tilting the tree about 45 degrees to the left, might have some possibilities. Along with some major branch removal. I removed both main branches on the right side and the main branch on the left. I really thought about it before removing the 3 main branches from the tree. So, with the vision I was hoping to bring out, I began wiring. After it was all done I think that I may have an even better bonsai than the original design that I tried so hard to preserve. This new design exposes all the jin, shari and movement of the trunk. Also, the base of the trunk has some nice movement meandering upwards. That is not a shari, it is water stain that I will remove in the future.

I may tweek some things and re-evalute the small jins. For now, I'll just let it rest. My only concern is if the tree decides, down the road, that it does not like these bottom branches. Then that will be a new challenge all over again.;) Here is the result. Before and the afters.

Rob

Before

After

Last edited:

JudyB

Queen of the Nuts
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
God you're good. Everything you touch just sings. And I don't even like junis. But this is one powerful little tree now. Love that new angle, that really floats my boat.

coh

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Still looks good!

If you're ever in the Rochester area, please stop by and help my junipers :)

Chris

wireme

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone