Japanese Black Pine - 1yr old, complete newbie mama

shawtymama

Seedling
Reaction score
GridArt_20230106_134306245.jpgI have a JBP grown from seed through stratification, 1 month in fridge. She saw daylight for the first time March 2022 so will be 1 next week. She grew on windowsill indoors until around Oct/Nov when she appeared to be dieing in tandem with the heating being used more frequently. I put her outside, she is partially under shelter. A shelf approx 4ft up the side of the house, below roofing overhang approx 4ft above the shelf. She is watered by the weather except during really dry periods, however, I only water when the soil is 'shrinking'. The soil has had periods over the winter in which the entire thing was a frozen block, though I'm aware she was 'hibernating' through those months. She will be 1 next month and I am wandering if she'll need repotting. She has 8 branch 'stubs' beginning, each with their own piney fingers. The soil has also developed its own moss which doesn't appear to be bothering her yet so I'm hoping that'll be able to stay with her. Any advice? I'm a complete newbie that loves all things nature and have grown more than iv probably cooked meals in my lifetime. Just don't want to harm her.

thank you

Attachments

• IMG_20220527_144416_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20220527_144416_HDR.jpg
    146.9 KB · Views: 49
  • IMG_20230106_131605_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20230106_131605_HDR.jpg
    186 KB · Views: 51
  • IMG_20230106_131553_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20230106_131553_HDR.jpg
    117.3 KB · Views: 51
  • IMG_20221114_151326_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20221114_151326_HDR.jpg
    97.6 KB · Views: 54
Remarkably healthy looking pine for a beginner. Well done so far.
Pine roots do not grow as fast as some other trees so she can probably stay in that pot for another year, maybe even 2 years. Need to check each season to see how tight the roots are getting to decide when to repot.