Ficus Retusa suggestions

deanpwr

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi,

First post!

I got a ficus retusa mallsai two years ago for 30 beans.
20200809_173122.jpg
I'm pretty new to bonsai but I made some basic styling attempts since.
20201012_224612.jpg

Here it is today with it's big bro:
20210323_195340.jpg
20210323_195440.jpg

I'll let it flush out a bit again before touching it as it's been a little weak since it's repot a while ago, but I'm looking for some styling tips / suggestions / techniques. If I like the sound of anything I'll keep you updated on progress here.

Thanks!

Nice.

Welcome to Crazy!

I'd like to see that right branch moved up, with some aeriel/regular roots encouraged to grow down that other slot.

Capture+_2021-04-11-08-58-30.png

You can make your apical part from that branch alone, and when/if you ditch the long section, use the resulting branch from that node bend to start your first left branch.

Keep it compact to bring focus to the rock.

Sorce

Nice.

Welcome to Crazy!

I'd like to see that right branch moved up, with some aeriel/regular roots encouraged to grow down that other slot.

View attachment 367320

You can make your apical part from that branch alone, and when/if you ditch the long section, use the resulting branch from that node bend to start your first left branch.

Keep it compact to bring focus to the rock.

Sorce
Drasticccc, never thought of that!

I'm really not a fan of the current apex, all the branches are coming straight off the trunk at the very top. Your suggestion would eliminate the crossing "third" branch near the top too.

I would like to see what others have to say about this or other suggestions.

You've had it for two years. It looks healthy. What portion of the year does it spend outside? You don't list your location, but the outdoor pond shot suggests you leave it outdoors for part of the year.

Ficus grow most vigorously when grown outdoors. Up north they are "out for the summer, indoors for the winter" plants.