Damping off?

Wulfskaar

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Hi! I'm a rookie at this and would like a little advice.

I am trying to grow some trees from seeds from a common kit. I had 3 types of trees sprout up. They seemed to be doing ok at first and then they kinda drooped over and died.

The Black Pine is now starting to do this. I have been trying not to water "too much" but it's so hard to judge. I am attaching a pic of my Black Pine. Are they dying from damping off or maybe something else???

Any advice is appreciated, especially since I'm giving it another go tonight with new seeds and soil.

Thanks!

Attachments

• seedlings_black_pine.jpg
    seedlings_black_pine.jpg
    117 KB · Views: 462
This is the same pot from 1 week ago when it looked much healthier.

Attachments

• seedlings_black_pine 1weekago.jpg
    seedlings_black_pine 1weekago.jpg
    154.1 KB · Views: 209
More info on the other ones...

The Bristlecone seedlings came up good, dropped their seed shells, and then the first set of "needles" started curling around until they looked like palm trees. They lasted a couple weeks before sagging and wilting.

Attachments

• bristlecone.jpg
    bristlecone.jpg
    213.4 KB · Views: 186
Hard to tell without a closer look at the base of the stems. Damping off is easy to spot. The stem close to the soil shrinks and may turn brown or black. There may be something at the base of the 2 centre seedlings but not clear enough from the angle and distance.
Damping off is an aggressive fungal infection. Less water may reduce the chances of it starting but when it has started nothing I've tried stops it except a good funguicide applied immediately. It really does spread fast and can sweep through a whole tray in 2-3 days.

Your seedlings don't really look healthy green. Where are they kept. Outside with good sun is best. Inside you will need good light. Lack of light can cause them to grow too tall and collapse.