Beginner and first japanese maples

rrgg126

Yamadori
Reaction score
Hi guys,

So after some research and practice on cheap shrubs I decided to try the famous japanese maple. I went to my closest nursery and picked this one up.

Japanese Maple 'Ukigumo'
Height: 3' tall
Trunk base: 2" thick
photo(1).jpg

I then saw this one a home depot for 15 bucks.

Japanese Maple 'Bloodgood'
Height: 4' tall
Trunk base: 1" thick
photo.jpg

I read that as a beginner and since this is my first time using japanese maple it is better to aim for a taller tree (12"-14" tall) instead of the really small 6" ones. These are my starter goals:

0. keep it alive
1. keep it this size
2. increase the trunk diameter
3. encourage dense growth on branches and trunk

I just bought it today and I was wondering if I should do anything right now like pick an apex and pinch off the new bud to prevent any increase in height or should i just let it grow and just chop it smaller later? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hi rrg, and welcome.
I'm a bit confused about goal #1. :confused:

I think that you should take a look at the rootball, and see if the roots are compacted in that soil. If it were me, I believe that I would cut the rootball in half (maybe more, but I'm pretty brazen about root cutting nursery container plants) and plant in the ground.
I might keep this in the container until late summer/early fall and do it then. If this is one of those plants that the soil falls off of when you pull it out, go ahead and plant it now.
This may not be the best course for you, but this is just what I would do at this point.