Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Hello again from South Florida, I collected a bald cypress today from swamp property a friend owns. I’m new to bonsai and only have one other tree so far, a black olive.
I watched videos regarding repotting after wild collection and tried to follow their examples.

My soil is a mix of 80/20 sphagnum peat moss and mushroom compost.

I cleaned up the root ball but didn’t bare root it as I was getting mixed info on that.

Excited to see how it does and hopeful it survives.
Any tips are appreciated!

Attachments

• IMG_7636.jpeg
    IMG_7636.jpeg
    437.4 KB · Views: 181
  • IMG_7656.jpeg
    IMG_7656.jpeg
    315.2 KB · Views: 119
  • IMG_7652.jpeg
    IMG_7652.jpeg
    367.9 KB · Views: 85
  • IMG_7648.jpeg
    IMG_7648.jpeg
    234.9 KB · Views: 86
  • IMG_7636.jpeg
    IMG_7636.jpeg
    437.4 KB · Views: 77
  • IMG_7656.jpeg
    IMG_7656.jpeg
    315.2 KB · Views: 78
  • IMG_7653.jpeg
    IMG_7653.jpeg
    383.9 KB · Views: 68
  • IMG_7648.jpeg
    IMG_7648.jpeg
    234.9 KB · Views: 78

pandacular

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Here's a post I have saved with some sketches on how to transition the top of bald cypress.

The key takeaway for now is to sit back and relax for at least a year while new shoots develop up top.

19Mateo83

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Here’s another good thread full of good bald cypress information

Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Unrelated but I found this in the same swamp today while looking for moss. Anyone have only idea what it is?

Attachments

• IMG_7632.jpeg
    IMG_7632.jpeg
    404.9 KB · Views: 108
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
So, after watching more videos I’m concerned I didn’t cut enough of the root ball back before repotting.
It’s only been a day, do you think pulling it out to trim the roots more is worth the shock?
I left a pretty big section originally, didn’t bare root it just trimmed the taproot and hosed it down. Will add a picture

Maiden69

Masterpiece
Reaction score