Air layering peach

eckert926

Seed
Reaction score
My peach tree lost most of its branches due to the cold and die back. I cut them off and decided to try to air layer the remaining branch which has flowers with peaches starting to grow. I air layered the bottom of the large branch as directed from countless YouTube and informational pages I studied. I cut the outer layer off and scraped the inner, added rooting hormone and then wrapped in wet peat moss. The baggy has condensation so I can see there’s moisture inside, but not sure what’s going on with the wilting of the leaves about a week after I did this… Did the air layering kill the tree somehow? I know I followed the process accurately :(

Attachments

• 2E13CCB4-D7D2-46BE-B9FA-0A2B048952EE.png
    2E13CCB4-D7D2-46BE-B9FA-0A2B048952EE.png
    304.7 KB · Views: 29
  • ABF74258-4E1A-40BC-9FC0-9096EEF43CD1.png
    ABF74258-4E1A-40BC-9FC0-9096EEF43CD1.png
    278.6 KB · Views: 27
  • 4726D24C-38CA-45D0-83EF-A67ABD9F8E9D.jpeg
    4726D24C-38CA-45D0-83EF-A67ABD9F8E9D.jpeg
    316.6 KB · Views: 29

namnhi

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
My peach tree lost most of its branches due to the cold and die back. I cut them off and decided to try to air layer the remaining branch which has flowers with peaches starting to grow. I air layered the bottom of the large branch as directed from countless YouTube and informational pages I studied. I cut the outer layer off and scraped the inner, added rooting hormone and then wrapped in wet peat moss. The baggy has condensation so I can see there’s moisture inside, but not sure what’s going on with the wilting of the leaves about a week after I did this… Did the air layering kill the tree somehow? I know I followed the process accurately :(