Things that drive me crazy about bonsai people

I can save them thousands of dollars by saying, "I have a degree and a professional license, and you don't."

What I meant was that the information is there if you want to work for it. You don't need to enroll in a college to gain access to it. What you do with it is up to you.
I do not know the US school system well enough. Here, college is not really focused on information.

I do not know the US school system well enough. Here, college is not really focused on information.

It depends on the school. Good schools care more about the discipline than the information. Mediocre schools care more about the information than the discipline. Bad schools worry more about discipline than information.

Edit: Hopefully my word play with the word "discipline" is clear to those translating this to languages other than English.

I ran into a similar problem with a club member last weekend. Well, I guess "problem" is a bit of an overstatement. It was just a couple of rude comments, but I was troubled by it nonetheless.

To summarize our exchange: I mentioned that I admired the work of Nick Lenz and other unorthodox growers in part because they expanded the conceptual space of what we consider to be bonsai. By pushing the boundaries of bonsai as an art, he and others have widened the field and given us humble hobbyists more room to play, so to speak. The aforementioned club member told me I was "acting arrogant" because he knew Nick Lenz, spent time at his garden, and owned four of his works, and I didn't, so I certainly wasn't qualified to talk about his work.