Season for top pruning mature material?

electraus

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
What time of year is best to top prune/trunk chop a deciduous tree that has already reached desired trunk girth and has an established branch that can be used as a leader? I imagine it’s not late winter/early spring because I don’t want the explosive growth that you generally look for when doing the first couple of chops.

Also curious if it would be better to do a flat chop and then carve or go straight for the bevel chop because I’m only cutting off about 4 inches of length (~3” diameter). Thanks in advance!

crab apple

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
I'm no expert but lots of recomendations on this site to do it right after the first flush hardens off in late spring.

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
What time of year is best to top prune/trunk chop a deciduous tree that has already reached desired trunk girth and has an established branch that can be used as a leader? I imagine it’s not late winter/early spring because I don’t want the explosive growth that you generally look for when doing the first couple of chops.

Also curious if it would be better to do a flat chop and then carve or go straight for the bevel chop because I’m only cutting off about 4 inches of length (~3” diameter). Thanks in advance!
Timing as stated above.

Make the cut straight unless you already have a branch below that you plan on using for a new leader. A straight cut will probably give more options for buds to pop that you can choose a new leader from.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Happy to endorse the above timing though I also chop through summer as well. I also chop in winter down here.