Crab Apple Help

oliviad

Sapling
Reaction score
Hello!

I need some help with this crab apple… it’s no longer growing upright but jetting forward, and I have no idea what to do with it. I’m terrified of killing it, because this was one of my dad’s bonsais that I have been taking care of since he passed away. I’m fairly new to bonsai, still learning a lot and I don’t want to screw this up hahaha. It’s an established bonsai, probably 20 or 30 years old at this point or perhaps even older. I honestly can’t remember the last time it was repotted - a friend of my dad’s was helping out with his trees for a few years there and did a mass repotting of the bulk of them two or three years ago. It’s in a mix of akadama, lava rock, and pumice. I’m in central NJ if that helps. Images attached!

Attachments

• IMG_5172.jpeg
    IMG_5172.jpeg
    256.9 KB · Views: 88
  • IMG_5171.jpeg
    IMG_5171.jpeg
    271.9 KB · Views: 82
  • IMG_5173.jpeg
    IMG_5173.jpeg
    196.2 KB · Views: 79
  • IMG_5174.jpeg
    IMG_5174.jpeg
    202.9 KB · Views: 77
  • IMG_5175.jpeg
    IMG_5175.jpeg
    249.1 KB · Views: 89

Deep Sea Diver

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Looks like the tree is healthy, but the top may of died back from the dead looking patch above the growth. Scratch the bark in a couple places up above and see if green shows.

A couple toughts.

First there is no taper up above, not uncommon in crabapples, so losing this section would actually be a gain stylistically as the lower section has a nice curve that could be used to create a new top with more taper. This would need either some guy wires and/or a change in potting angle next year. Maybe both.

Second the nebari looks good… like it was worked at some time… but the tree is planted too high now.