Willow Leaf Ficus Help: yellowing leaves

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I've been growing plants most of my life, but just in the past 8 or so months, I decided to really commit to bonsai. I purchased a few ficuses; a couple tiger bark and one willow leaf with a decent sized trunk, all pre-bonsai.

I received the willow leaf in the end of August and it was outside in full sun until mid October. I live in zone 6b in New Jersey.

I have been growing plumeria for 7 yrs now, so I actually had a grow tent in my basement, to grow them and some tropicals over the winter. So I made up my mind that when it got cold, I would just transition all my tropical trees to the grow tent for the cold months.

I just purchased new lighting and a better humidifier and whatnot, so I was still getting used the settings, but in about 3 to 4 weeks, I noticed some yellowing leaves on my willow leaf.

I thought it was just your normal leaf drop, but it gradually just kept on doing it.
Everyday I would check it out, and there would be another 6 to 10 leaves that were yellow and a little spotted brown.

The ficus was really pot bound when I received it, and once this started happening, I thought it might help to repot it. I know that if a tree isn't healthy it should not be re-potted, but I really didn't know what else to do.