Where to go from here with Parsoni Juniper

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I did the cleaning up. I would really like to make this into something nice. It seems to have a decent trunk and some nice branching. I want to get a guide as to where to go from this point. I would like to get some help before I "butcher" this one. I am new to this and trying to learn. Thank youIMG_3678.JPGIMG_3680.JPGIMG_3681.JPGIMG_3682.JPGIMG_3684.JPGIMG_3686.JPGIMG_3687.JPG

How much foliage have you taken off the tree already? 10%? 20%? 30%? more? less?

I am a noob(so this might be like: The blind leading the blind) but I have heard that juniper store a lot of energy in there foliage and you shouldn't remove more than 30% at one time. Then let it rest a season or 2.

I am risky and I have removed more than 30% and it lived. However if its a tree you want to keep and be gentle with you might want to wait.

How much foliage have you taken off the tree already? 10%? 20%? 30%? more? less?

I am a noob(so this might be like: The blind leading the blind) but I have heard that juniper store a lot of energy in there foliage and you shouldn't remove more than 30% at one time. Then let it rest a season or 2.

I am risky and I have removed more than 30% and it lived. However if its a tree you want to keep and be gentle with you might want to wait.
I would say thatI removed maybe 15-20%. I only went in and removed all of the dead stuff underneath and cleaned up the branched by removing the liitle shoots growing in between two already established branches. I also snipped off the small branches that were growing straight down or straight up. I did not remove any large branches.

I'd start by removing all of the low growth branches and then probably shorten some of the long runners and go from there.

2017-12-04 20.20.18.jpg