When to do first heavy prune on nursery shohin trident?

keegan

Sapling
Reaction score
Hi! Maple newbie here.

I've read a lot about maples, and just got my first little trident. I live in Los Angeles, where maples are a little more challenging in our heat than other places.

My question: This is quite a tall tree. I would like it to be a compact little shohin with a crown that flows down and to the left over the exposed roots. When should I cut this back hard? From what I've read, it seems like fall would be the best time (according to Peter Adams & Peter Warren). But as it is New Years and I just acquired this tree, I've missed that window. If I wait until early spring, maybe the tree will bleed a ton?

Is it best to cut it back hard now? (I would cut it to the first or second node on every branch--that's how much I want to compact it).

And what about wiring? Can I wire now too?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Keegan

Attachments

• IMG_2685.JPG
    IMG_2685.JPG
    235.8 KB · Views: 106
  • IMG_2686.JPG
    IMG_2686.JPG
    203.4 KB · Views: 113
  • IMG_2687.JPG
    IMG_2687.JPG
    224.6 KB · Views: 111

queenofsheba52

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi Kegan,

I live in Michigan so my advice won't help you any because your climate is completely different.

Maybe @Smoke or @bonsainut will chime in.

I hope you have lots of fun with your trident!

Smoke

Ignore-Amus
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi Keegan. This looks like a tree from House of Bonsai. Vicky Lee brings this kind of stuff in all the time. I wish I had that right now.

I would wait till spring. It will not bleed, tridents don't. This is not a sugar maple. As long as you cut back to a bud you will be fine it will push. About the middle of Feb. is good for you down there. Your about two weeks faster than me in Fresno.
As far as what to cut, your on your own pal!!:D

keegan

Sapling
Reaction score
Indeed, I did get it from vicky! (along with a killer pomegranate)