Schefflera arboricola grafting?

Hailstorm7

Seed
Reaction score
Hello, all. Newbie here. Is it possible to cut and regraft a branch on a Schefflera arboricola. Please see the attached pictures of the tree in its current state and the proposed change (should grafting be possible). Technically, the picture is of the back of the tree. But that branch on the left (in photo) is long and really doesn't have much going on. My thought was, should grafting again be possible, to cut it off at the trunk, place it in water for a few weeks until roots start to develop, then replant it against the existing trunk and graft the trunk's surface (from the branch cut down) to what is the existing underside of the branch up to just past the spike on the branch (which would then hopefully become a new trunk feature - see attached drawing; on photo, graft surfaces in yellow and general graft area in red). My thought was that this would shorten the overall length of the branch, allowing it to be reshaped to better build the canopy shape (see attached drawing with positioning options), balance the tree a bit better, and thicken the trunk.