Recommendations with soil / style

Brockie1996

Seedling
Reaction score
Good morning / good evening wherever you are!

I’m a beginner with bonsai, I have recently just purchased a Ficus Microcarpa (tiger bark ficus) I’m sure it is. I’m contemplating a re pot to change it to a proper bonsai soil, and to maybe bring it up a bit more as I think I see potential around the base of the tree. Im looking for advice on this as im new to it but i have been doing a lot of research.

Around the base of the tree it looks like the trunk goes a bit further into the soil, and there are what look like some very thick roots down there! I will show you some pics, i have brushed away a little bit of the top soil around the base to check it out but not too much. It is 16 hours after watering, it drained very well but it still pretty wet.

I’m thinking about buying a bag of the bonsai mix I have posted with this, if there are any people out there who would be so kind as to possibly shed some light on where to maybe go with this I’d appreciate it! 😊 thank you so much for any advice I get from you!

Attachments

• IMG_3066.jpeg
    IMG_3066.jpeg
    167.8 KB · Views: 24
  • IMG_3057.jpeg
    IMG_3057.jpeg
    133.1 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_3042.jpeg
    IMG_3042.jpeg
    236.3 KB · Views: 23
  • IMG_3067.png
    IMG_3067.png
    209.6 KB · Views: 19
  • IMG_3068.png
    IMG_3068.png
    45.4 KB · Views: 24
Glad you’re settling in and asking questions! I like where your head is at doing some soil exploration. During a repot and root prune on a tree like this, you’ll often find that nurseries plant trees rather high, which can result in small, high roots. Generally, I try to cut high roots above where the largest roots emerge from the soil.