Purple/Reddish needles on Japanese Black Pines

Stimpy

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi everybody,

I am pretty new to Bonsai and i have these JBP seedlings that i have for about 3-5 months, some of the needles are starting to become a little purple/red on some of the needles.
Not really sure what could be the cause of this, could this be a watering issue? They get about 6-8 hours of direct sunlight when the weather allows it. Do they recover from this?
Any help/feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Sam.L

Attachments

• 1000010021.jpg
    1000010021.jpg
    191 KB · Views: 62
  • 1000010017.jpg
    1000010017.jpg
    179.3 KB · Views: 35
  • 1000010015.jpg
    1000010015.jpg
    190.3 KB · Views: 31
  • 1000010023.jpg
    1000010023.jpg
    220.7 KB · Views: 32
  • 1000010025.jpg
    1000010025.jpg
    203.2 KB · Views: 65
Could be, yes.
Looks like the soil is heavy and could be staying wet.

Cold can help too in turning them purple. Combined with a little too much water they will probably continue to change color. They should go back green again in spring.

Could be, yes.
Looks like the soil is heavy and could be staying wet.
Yes i assume the soil is pretty dense, i was planning on repotting them with a better more aerated soil mix. But since autumn just started it might be better to wait for spring again.
Or do you think it's fine to repot them now aswell? I read it's better to wait until spring.

Cold can help too in turning them purple. Combined with a little too much water they will probably continue to change color. They should go back green again in spring.
I assume i should hold back on the watering then 😁. Good to hear that they aren't doomed for now, hopefully they will do well during the winter.
Thanks for replying both of you, really appreciated!

Yes i assume the soil is pretty dense, i was planning on repotting them with a better more aerated soil mix. But since autumn just started it might be better to wait for spring again.