Planting seeds in winter

Gollum169

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4a
Hello! I just bought some larch and mugo pine seeds. I know some people plant these outside in the fall and wait for them to germinate in the spring. I live in zone 4 and we still have several weeks of winter here. Weather right now is highs in the 30s and lows in 20s but next weekend highs only in the teens.
Is it ok if I plant them outside now or should I wait until it is spring? I thought about starting half indoors and half outside to see what works. I'm very new to this so just trying to learn!

Gollum169

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4a
Do you still need to soak them for 24 hrs if you plant them outside for cold stratification?
Thanks for the reply!

Eckhoffw

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4b
I wouldn’t think it necessary. Soaking the seeds, usually just speeds up the germination process. If you’re going to plant them outside, and still have maybe a month of winter left, I don’t see why you need to.

If you Plan on sowing them inside, you may want to.

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I do the soak with all seeds regardless.
Mainly because it acts as a viability check; after 48 hours, sinkers are alive, floaters are not.
That way I can more or less estimate what the germination rate is going to be.

Sometimes there's so much dead in there that sowing would be a waste of time.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?