Planning my Chinese pepper (Zanthoxylum piperitum)

Unagi

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
Background
I am a complete beginner, I bought my first two bonsais about 1.5 months ago, a Chinese pepper (Zanthoxylum piperitum) and a Chinese elm (Ulmus parvifolia). I was ripped off, but I didn't know that at that time.

The shop was a 3x3m wooden building next to a very busy road in the center of big city in Eastern Europe. There were wide windows on every wall of the building, and after they placed the shelfs that they put the bonsais on, there was only 1x1.5m remaining space inside. It was probably an ice crème or hot-dog stand before. The summers in that country are hot, that day, it was ~40C outside, so they placed a mobile AC to the 1x1.5m room that blow the ice cold air to the tree and the owner of the shop. Later I learned that they had a closed nursery outside the city, and they cycled the trees between the two places, that is how they kept the trees more or less green. The poor Chinese elm had plenty of dried out and yellow leafs, but it had green ones too! :) The trees were about 20 cm tall. Later, I noticed that the pot of the Chinese pepper was broken and glued together in a very ugly way. The Chinese elm was slip potted into a different medium that later caused me hard time to properly water it.

I paid about 50 USD per tree, but I was really happy that I bought my first bonsais. :)

When I travelled back to Switzerland, I brought the trees home, and started to read what makes a bonsai a bonsai. Nabari, trunk, etc. At this point I realized that the trees are probably not the best material for bonsai, or it can take a lots of time to develop them to a good one. Every cloud has a silver lining, I decided that is the best material for me to learn by experimenting. :)

In this post I would like to talk only about the Chinese pepper, and ask your opinion about what I would like to do, and what to pay attention to. I will write a similar post for my elm.