New to bonsai, olive question

Newcastle

Sapling
Reaction score
sierra nevada foothills, placer county, ca
USDA Zone
9B
I am completely new to bonsai and am really interested in collecting my own material to use. I realize it could take a long time before I actually have a "bonsai" tree. Can you trunk chop and mold prospects a few years before you dig them up? Would they mature more quickly? These all have suckers growing everywhere, can they be removed as well? (while still growing where they are)

olive2.jpgolive1.jpgolive4.jpgolive5.jpgolive6.jpg

OLives are one of the easiest species to collect successfully and develop very quickly into bonsai. I wouldn't mess around with working on them in the ground but get them out while you have the opportunity. (I assume you have permission to dig the ones you showed)
Olives can be flat cut on the bottom with a chainsaw and will quickly grow new roots and branches. I've even dug large trees, up to 6 Ft. diameter, split them into separate stumps with a wood splitter, and grown the pieces into bonsai.
You didn't say where you are, but if you dig them this time of year you should try to provide some bottom heat the help with root growth after you dig them.
Paul

It's kind of hard to tell exactly from the pictures, but those look more like privet (ligustrum) than olive. Olives generally live in more arid environs. Privets, depending on the species can make good to great bonsai material. BTW, it is very helpful to put your location (general, like state or metropolitan area) because many aspects of bonsai are different depending on your climate.

With that said, the best way to develop stock is in the ground, especially trunk chopping and developing a new leader. They will develop much more quickly, particularly if you remove suckers and unwanted branches from time to time.

It would help greatly if you filled in the geographic location where you live.