New to Bonsai and looking for general advice

Beloc

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hello everyone,

I am new to bonsai and recently purchased some trees from Eastern Leaf. They all came in looking well and, so far it has been going well, I think. I am about a month to month and a half into it, and it doesn't seem to be dying. It seems to be doing well.

Here are some things I have done and would like some thoughts on them:

1. At first, I kept the trees (one is a Juniper Evergreen, two Chinese Elms, and a Flowering Tea tree) about 1.5-2 feet from a window that gets direct sunlight from about 1pm to sunset. The amount of shade changes as the sun goes down.
2. Thinking more light is better, I purchased a full spectrum UV light that is on for 9 hours a day, shining on them. This is done during the day so many days they get not only the sunlight but the UV light. I know I can turn it off on sunny days, but I am lazy, and it's on a timer. :)
3. They are kept indoors. If it does not show on my profile, my zone is 7a. Should I or could I put them outside?
4. I try to keep their humidity trays "wet" every day since the humidity in my home hovers around 38-40%. I'm not sure if this is too low or just right. To me, it seems a tad low.
5. I also check the soil wetness with a meter and do not water if it is wet or better. The meter has the readings of dry, normal, wet, and wet+.

The one thing I notice is the top portions of the soil tend to get very dry, but when I use the meter and push it down into the pot, at about an inch, it turns to normal/wet and then wet as I go deeper. Is this normal? If the top is dry but the area where the roots are are wet is this ok?

Thank you guys for all the help and I look forward to learning.

pandacular

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
They are kept indoors. If it does not show on my profile, my zone is 7a. Should I or could I put them outside?