My poor Jade

Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hello all! I just wanted to show you what I did over the weekend to my jade. I've had it for about 4, years now. I had it in a pot that was way too big for it and the soil stayed too wet. So over this weekend I decided to repot it into something smaller in order to get better soil in it but also in oder to get it done morning sun and without dominating the window. Problem is it was way too tall to sit comfortably in the pot so I had to do some choping. im hoping. Some branches will develop new growth from the stump. Let me know what you think.

Attachments

• IMG_20160808_090438355_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20160808_090438355_HDR.jpg
    328.5 KB · Views: 77
  • IMG_20160808_090526226_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20160808_090526226_HDR.jpg
    164.8 KB · Views: 80
  • IMG_20160808_090544425.jpg
    IMG_20160808_090544425.jpg
    188.4 KB · Views: 79
Euh, I'm not a succulent expert but that new soil looks like a solid rock. But, I think it's too much stress to repot it again (are there holes in the new pot?)

Nah it's a sand/potting soil mix. It looks weird because it's still wet. It does and a layer of gravel at the bottom

Sand can actually smother the thin delicate roots on a jade, it also retains moisture due to such small grains. I use miracle grow citrus/cactus soil with my jades and they do really well. I've had my big one for 16 years and have never had a root issue. Mine is grown as a house plant, not bonsai.

Sand can actually smother the thin delicate roots on a jade, it also retains moisture due to such small grains. I use miracle grow citrus/cactus soil with my jades and they do really well. I've had my big one for 16 years and have never had a root issue. Mine is grown as a house plant, not bonsai.
Well shoot I wish I would've known this before I put three of my succulents in it. The guy at the local nursery suggested it

It's been inside for 4 years I put it outside in shade when we moved ad it went into shock state.