Japanese Maple Leaf Reduction

jimlau

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I have a Japanese Maple. About 10" tall from soil line. I don't know the variety. It has nice nebari and trunk line and taper.

Only issue is leaf size. These leaves are after defoliating. Can I expect more leaf reduction next season?

Also, does anyone know what this is worth? may sell it but not sure what to expect. Feel free to PM me on that.

Thanks.

Attachments

• 20240822_184355.jpg
    20240822_184355.jpg
    244.3 KB · Views: 79
It looks like the dwarf variety 'Mikawa Yatsubusa'. I'm no expert but from what I've experienced with my own is that everything bar the leaves are dwarf. It's a small tree with short internodes. It looks grafted which could impact the price too.

It looks like the dwarf variety 'Mikawa Yatsubusa'. I'm no expert but from what I've experienced with my own is that everything bar the leaves are dwarf. It's a small tree with short internodes. It looks grafted which could impact the price too.
What do you mean regarding i"s that everything bar the leaves are dwarf"?

Thanks

I think there are ways to reduce leaf size on Japanese maples. I am not qualified because I've never done it, but I'm sure some people here know the answer.

Only issue is leaf size. These leaves are after defoliating. Can I expect more leaf reduction next season?
Leaf size is also affected by care routines, Extra fertilizer, extra water for example. without understanding the background of your trees care, clear comments on the possible reduction in size of the leaves is suspect at best. Perhaps give the readers a sense of the amount, frequency and type of fertilizer used. Another significant factor is how long ago was the tree repotted, vigorous growth occurs the second year after repotting normally. Just some other aspects to consider.