Japanese Maple for $61 at COSTCO..... good deal?

LuckyDutch

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
Hi All, I am still very much a beginner and have mainly played with junipers and a few small nursery trees and "rescues" thus far. I was at our local COSTCO yesterday evening and noticed that they had a section with Japanese Maples. I am not an expert on trees.... slowly learning... but the $61.99 seemed to be a good numebr for the size of the trees. I bought the one with the most interesting and thickest trunk and hope that I can do something nice with it over the years (that I have left 😄). What do you think? Advice?

PS tree was bought in Mount Pleasant, South Carolina

Attachments

• IMG_7653.jpeg
    IMG_7653.jpeg
    387.1 KB · Views: 152
  • IMG_7660.jpeg
    IMG_7660.jpeg
    162.8 KB · Views: 144
  • IMG_7656.jpeg
    IMG_7656.jpeg
    281.6 KB · Views: 134
  • IMG_7657.jpeg
    IMG_7657.jpeg
    313.7 KB · Views: 141
  • IMG_7659.jpeg
    IMG_7659.jpeg
    284 KB · Views: 150
Last edited:
Two more photos. The tree is about 8ft tall and looks healthy to me, but what do I know.....

Attachments

• IMG_7658.jpeg
    IMG_7658.jpeg
    317.1 KB · Views: 134
  • IMG_7661.jpeg
    IMG_7661.jpeg
    206.4 KB · Views: 150
$61.99 is not a bad price for landscape maples. If you can find something worthwhile for bonsai, it is a very, very good price. Especially to learn on. It looks like you found a decent one to work with. There are a lot of threads here that document working with a tree similar to the one you bought. Look for them and have fun!

And add your location to your profile. It will be help others to help you.

$61.99 is not a bad price for landscape maples. If you can find something worthwhile for bonsai, it is a very, very good price. Especially to learn on. It looks like you found a decent one to work with. There are a lot of threads here that document working with a tree similar to the one you bought. Look for them and have fun!