Is anyone familiar with acer tataricum "hot wings?"

BonsaiManic

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a/
There are not a lot of maples that thrive in the desert, and this one is somewhat drought tolerant, so I was contemplating procurement. But I might not be to that point yet. I saw these in Denver a few years ago, and they are very impressive specimen. If anyone has experience with these, I'd definitely be interested in gleaning some of your knowledge.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20240723_134627_Google.jpg
    Screenshot_20240723_134627_Google.jpg
    27.2 KB · Views: 40
  • Screenshot_20240723_134529_Google.jpg
    Screenshot_20240723_134529_Google.jpg
    149.9 KB · Views: 41
  • Screenshot_20240723_134555_Google.jpg
    Screenshot_20240723_134555_Google.jpg
    95.6 KB · Views: 41
I have no personal experience with this maple, but It seems to be native to southeastern Europe and western Asia. Not sure this is really a desert tree. In fact, it is hardy to zone 3. It will need dormancy.

According to my research, it is a variety that came about in Colorado, which has a pretty dry climate, and plenty of heat, especially in the eastern part of the state. From what I can figure, it might be drought tolerant enough, but I'm not sure about the heat. It gets cold enough long enough here that the big-tooth maples go dormant, as well as elms, soapberry, and other typically deciduous trees.
They are very pricey, though. I think this might just be a plea for someone to convince me one way or another, so I don't drop a bundle on a tree just to murder it.
From the wealth of knowledge here, I've learned that I live in probably the most difficult climate for bonsai, so my species options are very limited, especially for a beginner. Thanks for your input.