I got some 8 gauge copper wire at Home Depot that says it’s already annealed, but I’m having incredible difficulty bending it.

raenstorming

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
I’m new to wiring, I’ll say that up front, and this is my first experience with pure copper. I want to use it on a Juniperus procumbens 'Nana' with a nice cascading branch. I got about one and a half turns around the trunk without too much issue, but then no luck. All the wiggling and fighting with it led to the wire messing up the bark in an ugly way. I think I need a thinner gauge for the branch in question, but this was the closest to correct they had in stock at the time. Anyway, if hardware store wire says it’s annealed but it’s giving me this much grief…does it need to be annealed again? I admit I am not very strong—I just don’t have experience with how much strength is needed either.

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
What Paul said. Wire at home depot is probably made for electrical wiring. That wire isnt annealed like bonsai wire is.
Also if you got solid wire, its probably a heavier gauge which will make it very difficult to bend as it is.
I've been there, done that with wire from HD, its not worth the effort it takes to get it properly annealed.
It costs about the same to just buy bonsai wire

gooeytek

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
8 gauge is very thick to begin with, and as you uncoil and twist, it starts to work-harden (this is the reason for using annealed wire. work-hardening helps for your bends to take a set properly). It's harder for do-overs if you re-use thicker wire.

stewarjm192

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b