Hydroponics and bonsai

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I am going to start a thread discussing the use of hydroponics for the propagation of bonsai.

I have zero experience in this area, so I am going to have to link resources. If anyone has experience, it would be extremely helpful if you could jump in.

In order to be successful, a hydroponic setup would need to provide: water, oxygen, nutrients, physical stability. This assumes the presence of adequate light.

Questions:
(1) Can you use hydroponics in the propagation of woody plants?
(a) Best practices?
(b) Benefits / shortfalls?

(2) Can you use hydroponics to grow larger trees / full bonsai-sized trees?
(a) What would be different with the system versus what you would do in (1)?
(b) Benefits / shortfalls?

If one is using an inorganic mix, isn't it already essentially hydroponic?

When I go to the designated "hydroponics store" I see the the same fundamental concepts of bonsai-culture. Coarse, jagged substrates (Growstone, Perlite, Hydrocorn, coconut husk etc), and fertilizers.

The only difference is that the hydro people might have pumps running a nutrient solution over their plants constantly in an indoor set up with extra coarse substrate and nothing to break down (i.e. akadama or organics).

Last edited:
First, an article about propagation in hydroponics.

Second, an article about Mycorrhizal Fungi in hydroponics.

Third a couple of interesting comments: