How to get this ficus microcarpa to backbud

anathens

Seed
Reaction score
I am new to this. How can i get back budding in the circled areas?

Attachments

• ficus.jpg
    ficus.jpg
    230.2 KB · Views: 74

Grovic

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Welcome to the forum, usually that can be achieved by removing the terminal buds or pruning the branch shorter, but I'd wait until the tree is growing vigorously, does it live outside during spring/summer? Here in Michigan I'd wait until mid July after the tree has been outside for at least a month.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I am new to this. How can i get back budding in the circled areas?
I'd wait until the tree is growing vigorously

To expand on that, you really need at least twice as many leaves on that tree before I would consider it "vigorous." If you have an outside space and it is not already growing out there (and it is spring where you are), set the tree in a shady spot and shift it into a little bit sunnier spot every few days until it is acclimated to full sun. Fertilize it every week with an all-purpose, liquid fertilizer like Miracle Grow, diluted to half strength. Then, you should see it take off with growth. Double the foliage, then snap off the leaf buds you will find at the tip of every branch, and cut every leaf on the tree in half at the same time. Wait a couple of weeks before doing anything else (other than maybe wiring), and you will see backbudding everywhere on the tree. Use these techniques before the tree is strong, and it will not work nearly as well. The tree could even die.

If you lack outside space, invest in a decent grow light (like this one in a regular gooseneck lamp) and put the tree close (not touching) to the sunniest window you have. You can keep the grow light on (12-16hrs/day) during the summer, but it will be the most helpful in winter. The tree will grow pretty well, just not nearly as well as outside.

Good luck!

Baku1875

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b