Help!!! My Serissa is getting white stuff all over...!

Dan W.

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Don't worry, they're just flowers.

Here's a little progression of my not so impressive white flowering Serissa. I'm fully aware that this little guy doesn't have much going for it as far as truly great bonsai potential. But that's not why I keep him around.

I've been working this tree for a few years, and it's one of just a few tropical trees that I keep to sate some of my bonsai withdrawals during our 6 month winters. It's developed to the point where it really reminds me of many large cottonwood trees around here. Nothing spectacular, just fun. :)

The earliest pictures I could find are from May 2011.

Mid May 2011, with some rooted cuttings from the tree.

Later that May, featuring one of my more sophisticated styling techniques. ;)
(I'm guessing the paintbrush was for scale..?.. lol)

At the State fair in 2012. My show standards have changed drastically in just a couple of years!

Summer 2013

Winter, late 2013

And here's the white stuff.. Sorry for the poor picture, it's the only one I can find at the moment. The tree exploded with flowers after coming inside this fall. The flowers are really tiny and most attempts at pictures don't turn out well.

I really need to take a current picture of the whole tree. Promise to do so soon!

As I mentioned the tree isn't much, but I think it's come a long way and I figured I'd share the progression.

You've managed to keep a Serissa alive for over 3 years? I was lucky if I kept one alive for 3 days...

Well I have killed a couple. This one seems happy to stay alive though. :)

Besides, if anything happens to this one my wife will sentence me to the doghouse indefinitely. -- I suppose that's the main reason I've kept this tree around.. She's claimed it as hers.