Help identify a tree and suggest a course of action for a rookie

Captain_Electron

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6A
Hi all

Sorry I posted this in what did you to today thread but need some more help

So I’m a rookie other then barley keeping a juniper alive the last two years.

I have jumped in hard here. I have 7 trees now which is probably nothing compared to you all

I found this neglected guy on Craigslist yesterday for $40 including the stand. Couldn’t help myself due to his size

Probably 15 inches tall and the pot is probably a 14 inch pot so fairly big tree

It’s obviously a mess. Trying to figure out how to bring him back to life now.

First need to identify it? Best guess seems to be privet so far?

He appears to be in a dense black dirt not a rocky bonsai soil. Debating on repotting him.

He is also clearly in desperate need of a pruning. I am new to pruning since I have not had a tree grow enough to warrant it.

I think I’m just going to get rid of the dry dead shoots for starters and then let it settle in.

I have this soil pictured below. Any thoughts on repotting him with this?

Here are some more detailed pics to help
Also looks like someone tried to fertilize him I guess

He has to be inside due to my climate but I have giant 30 foot ceilings with 15 foot tall cathedral windows.

I also have grow lights for him. Can anyone suggest some care instructions as I’m new to doing much else but watering and have done one or two repotting

45D9E449-9BDD-4EC0-9A68-D7D6562E7381.jpeg
69B4C1CC-95DC-4829-A362-ADF25143062D.jpeg
04F5FCD1-2040-47E3-89F3-F5ED3A7D4AC9.jpeg

0FCEC2D0-DDBD-4EF8-9606-34B06E0538D5.jpeg

CF716379-9E42-4F2D-BECF-4B0148253992.jpeg

Captain_Electron

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6A
Got him cleaned up today and trimmed a good bit to at least get rid of the dead shoots and let some others get some light.

Still debating on reporting

7229F5C9-9745-4158-AF31-19FD69A5F867.jpeg

Orion_metalhead

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a