Hawaiian Umbrella Froze!?

Lou P

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi All!
Hoping you can help me.
I received my 8 year old(ish) Hawaiian Umbrella today. Took it in the house as soon as UPS dropped it on the porch. For reference I am in Long Island, NY (Zones 7b / 8a). Its cold here. When I opened the box the leaves were all wilted and soggy. The weaker/younger branches are as well. There was actual ice covering the dirt / roots. I unpacked it and put it under my grow lights. Will try to put it in my (indoor) greenhouse tonight. See pics below - I would love some advice from all of the experienced people on here. I'm a bit a novice.
Thank you in advance!
Lou

IMG_3499.jpegIMG_3498.jpegIMG_3497.jpegIMG_3496.jpegIMG_3495.jpegIMG_3494.jpegIMG_3493.jpegIMG_3490.jpegIMG_3489.jpegIMG_3488.jpegIMG_3487.jpeg

Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
I think at this rate, all that you can do is get it back in favorable conditions and hope that the freezing temps didn't totally do the roots in. If the entire rootball didn't freeze in transit then there may be enough mass remaining to support life.

stewarjm192

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Where did you buy this from? Im surprised a seller would ship this species with no heat packs to a northern address this time of year.....thats just bad form, and it could result in the loss of the tree at no fault of the buyer

Lou P

Seedling
Reaction score
I think at this rate, all that you can do is get it back in favorable conditions and hope that the freezing temps didn't totally do the roots in. If the entire rootball didn't freeze in transit then there may be enough mass remaining to support life.
Thank you! The soil is moist but didnt appear frozen. But there is (was) ice on top of the soil. I guess time will tell... Appreciate the response!

Lou P

Seedling
Reaction score