Dawn Redwood I put in the ground to “thicken up” is huge. Now what?

fossiliferous

Sapling
Reaction score
Tl;dr: it’s 8 feet tall and as thick as my wrist. What now?

Context: I’m still definitely a newbie when it comes to bonsai even though I’ve been doing this for a few years. Had an interest in it for a while, figured might as well get some things started in my early 30s so I can enjoy them for decades- of course life got chaotic and things hit the fan as soon as I got some trees.
In 2021, my husband bought me a couple of dawn redwood twigs for my birthday for me to bonsai. The one that survived was still pretty much a twig when we moved into our current house a couple of years ago. I planted it in a plastic container with holes in it right by our deck to “thicken up.” I don’t remember if I put a ceramic tile under it to prevent a huge straight taproot or not. I hope so. Last summer it got pretty big, but was still spindly. I was just glad that it didn’t die, given that I was kind of busy with a 1 year old and 2 year old. This summer it has really gotten huge. I took a tape measure out there. It is over 8 feet tall from the top of that plastic “pot” to the still-rapidly-growing tip. Near the base it is as thick as my wrist!!
Meanwhile, the deck is getting decrepit enough that we need to replace soon. So the tree is going to have to be moved anyway in a few months, probably.

Air layer? Hard trunk chop while it still has a while to recover? I want to make sure that it survives getting moved and/or moved into a real pot. Thanks!

Attachments

• 53A60F9C-A7D3-4998-873C-7FB6D536CC4F.jpeg
    53A60F9C-A7D3-4998-873C-7FB6D536CC4F.jpeg
    274.8 KB · Views: 313
  • 4915FE5F-2768-4B2F-9A60-EADB34928224.jpeg
    4915FE5F-2768-4B2F-9A60-EADB34928224.jpeg
    333 KB · Views: 289
  • D5AE63FC-3009-447A-AFF8-AF1575BD44C8.jpeg
    D5AE63FC-3009-447A-AFF8-AF1575BD44C8.jpeg
    205 KB · Views: 269
  • ABF2CF9E-18C3-473C-B81E-DEBD88DC65E4.jpeg