BRT Vacation Watering

cairolip21

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hi all,
I'm a novice but have had my Brazilian Rain Tree for about 8 years now. We've been through some struggles but I think I've finally got it doing pretty well. It's indoors year round (Long Island NY) but in a south facing bay window with a 32w GE plant light above it. I also built a mini pond surround for a bit more humidity and to build an auto watering system for when I'm away. (I go away for about a week at a time every month or two).

My auto waterer keeps it alive but it's always ends up upset and starts defoliating any time I go on a trip followed by great growth when I return to normal daily watering. Do you all have any suggestions for watering while away cuz I don't think my contraption is doing the trick. I think with the soil being so coarse the water just drains straight down and some of the roots end up drying. I've tried a few different ways to get the water to disperse but no luck. 🫠
Any help would be so greatly appreciated.

Pictures of the tree and my strange brain child of a mini pond and watering system attached. 😆

Attachments

• 20240202_114413.jpg
    20240202_114413.jpg
    241.3 KB · Views: 58
  • 20240414_211053.jpg
    20240414_211053.jpg
    216.7 KB · Views: 57
  • 20240414_211050.jpg
    20240414_211050.jpg
    184.7 KB · Views: 59
I don't know how BRT react to being flooded, but I sat my whole collection in a shallow pool (3" deep) the first couple of years I was into bonsai. At the time I had 10 different species including a couple of tropicals. No signs of distress on any of them. Most seemed to really enjoy it. In nature, it is very common that trees stand in water due to floods for days or weeks at a time. I've never seen any widespread death among trees in that scenario. Maybe try sitting the tree in water while you're at home and just observe how it handles it.