Brazilian Rain Tree Leaves Not Opening - BRT

cairolip21

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hi there,
This is my first time posting to the forum so please redirect me if I've posted this in the wrong place.

This is the first year I put my BRT outside for spring/summer (I live in NY) and when I brought it back in, I think I came close to losing it. Nearly all of the leaves dropped and the soil was staying moist for almost 2 weeks at a time. I realized the soil was a bit compact and the soil temp was pretty cold (low 60's because the bay window base isn't insulated even though the ambient air around the plant was around 70) so I repotted and put it on a seedling heat mat and got it to recover and actually bloom for the first time!

This was back in December and it's been doing well since then, however, for the last week or two the leaves haven't been opening.

I have it under a grow light and I've been experimenting with distances in case it's too much when the sun is strong, and I have the seedling mat keeping the soil 69 degrees and above. It's drinking water correctly now needing water every 3 days or so, but still not opening. Any thoughts on what might be causing this or things I could try? I included a picture of the setup and a closeup of the tree in case that helps. The only other change since it started doing better was the addition of the moss. Any chance that might be causing it?

Thanks in advance,
Phil

Attachments

• 20210209_162530.jpg
    20210209_162530.jpg
    254.8 KB · Views: 79
  • 20210209_163142.jpg
    20210209_163142.jpg
    263.2 KB · Views: 76

cairolip21

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
None other than my adjusting the height of the grow light because it was closing midday. I have a cheap moisture/ph/light sensor from Amazon and I currently have the grow light situated with about 1,000lux without the sun. It was much closer before, near 2,000 lux without sun.

Carol 83

Flower Girl
Reaction score