Black Pine Question

thomas22

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I am not new to bonsai but I am very new to Black Pines. I only have two besides my seedlings and have never tried to develop one yet. I got this Pine a few years and cut it down to what you see in the middle tree of the first pic. The second pic is the tree as of now and a possible front. I don't see this tree as ever being a great tree but I want to learn from it.

My question is simple. Can I cut back to the blue line on a branch like this. I have many like this that are getting too long without any side shoots. If yes should I do it now so it will bud from there in the spring or what is the best time to cut back. The tree grew like craze this year and I feel its getting away from me.

Less specific question, what should my game plan be to compact and ramify.

Thanks 2017-01-01 15.32.19 (2).jpg20180823_181334.jpg20180823_181413_LI.jpg

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
One observation please. Based on immature growth and smooth trunk bark do not believe is Japanese Black Pine but possibly is Italian Stone Pine. Not sure results of cutting back as you ask. "However" as long as cutting on young(current year)stem with many needles MAY yield back budding. Not likely if done on bare stem. If wishing to try this do now and fertilize heavily till Fall dormancy to encourage new buds;). Best fortune.

thomas22

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
One observation please. Based on immature growth and smooth trunk bark do not believe is Japanese Black Pine but possibly is Italian Stone Pine. Not sure results of cutting back as you ask. "However" as long as cutting on young(current year)stem with many needles MAY yield back budding. Not likely if done on bare stem. If wishing to try this do now and fertilize heavily till Fall dormancy to encourage new buds;). Best fortune.