Advice on Fall repotting of a juvenile Delonix Regia (Royal Poinciana)

BJC

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Hello! I am fairly new to bonsai and this is my first post. I'm glad to be here, and could use your extensive knowledge to diagnose some issues I'm having with my DR bonsai. I started from seed back in early Spring, and the tree has done better than I could have imagined! The small tree is now 8 months old, and has been experiencing some slow leaf drop over the past few weeks. I have researched and tried to do everything I could think of to resolve the issue. I tried watering more/less, increased fertilizer usage to once every 2 weeks with a ratio of 1-1-1 as not to burn the roots. The plant is placed on a southern facing windowsill and gets direct sunlight about 6 hours a day. I even have a small humidifier next to it because I thought maybe the air was too dry. There is still new growth from the top, but it has been very slow compared to the summer and spring months. I'm located on the Gulf Coast Panhandle of FL in growing zone 9a, so I've read that these trees can experience a dormancy period depending on the growing zone. I figured this might be normal? After all that, the only thing I can think of is that the pot has become too small for the plant and needs to repotted? I have ordered a new pot and it should be here next week, but I am concerned about repotting at the wrong time. I would really hate to repot when it doesn't need to be and then have it die during the winter months. On the other hand, I'd hate to not repot if it needs to be and then it still dies. I really love my little office tree! If you have any advice or experience growing these species, I would really appreciate some guidance!

Cheers!

Attachments

• DR1.jpg
    DR1.jpg
    146.7 KB · Views: 39
  • DR2.jpg
    DR2.jpg
    181.1 KB · Views: 31
  • DR3.jpg
    DR3.jpg
    164.1 KB · Views: 32
  • DR4.jpg
    DR4.jpg
    188.7 KB · Views: 27
  • DR5.jpg
    DR5.jpg